Thoughts From The Gameroom

The ramblings of a Euro-gamer from South Dakota

This Year’s Wooden Toys

Posted by sodaklady on December 20, 2011

Each year my husband makes toys with the local Woodworker’s Association to give to charitable groups in the area at Christmas time, but he also makes toys for the children of his co-workers. As the years go by, the children grow as does their collection of Richard’s Wooden Toys. (Can I trademark that even if the plans come from books and magazines? 😉 )  This year he had a request for a jet plane and a train engine so along with pull toys, doll cradles, trucks, cars and heart boxes, we now have two new very neat toys. I absolutely love the train engine! My husband, retired air force, is partial to airplanes and has several styles but this is the first jet plane. The plans said it was an F16 but he made sure I knew that it most certainly was not, as F16s have only one engine!

Toys 2011

 

8 Responses to “This Year’s Wooden Toys”

  1. Two engines, two tail fins, large air intakes on the sides, yeah it looks a lot more like an F15 than an F16.

  2. Like those wooden toys, especially the train engine.
    They are much better than today’s plastic toys.

  3. Dan Rowe said

    Would it be possible to purchase plans for the wooden bi-plane from your husband?

    • sodaklady said

      The bi-plane and several other of the toys are from a book by Jim Makowicki titled Making Heirloom Toys. It’s available from Amazon and full of great toy plans. I highly recommend it.

  4. woody said

    I had built the 2 of the “F-16’s” for Christmas a few years ago for my two boys and they loved it….my nephew now wants one too! I got the plans free out of one of my woodworking magazines but can’t remember which. Can you tell me which magazine so I can re-locate the article?

    • sodaklady said

      I know the feeling; I have the same problem with recipes. Now I keep a list of favorites, which cookbook or magazine they were in and page number.

      My husband says he got the plans out of a book called The Great All-American Wooden Toy Book by Norm Marshall. But he thought it was also in Wood magazine. I hope this helps and you manage to find your plans.

      Merry Christmas.

  5. Aaron Prewer said

    Wooden toys have continued to be a common part of childhood. By the 1700’s, German toymakers began to craft a variety of play figures from wood to sell to the general public. Salesmen would travel around Europe to market their popular wood toys, taking advance orders for special occasions. Almost life-like dolls and animals were becoming favorite playthings for children all over Europe.*

    Remember to explore our own homepage
    <'http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/how-to-prevent-acne/

Leave a Reply

 
