Thoughts From The Gameroom

The ramblings of a Euro-gamer from South Dakota

Updating My Husband’s Wooden Toys

Posted by sodaklady on July 10, 2010

A comment on a post I made over two years ago reminded me that I wanted to add a picture of the toy turtle he had made for someone else. I finally have my own turtle now and I think it’s cute as can be. The shell is roughly 9″ long and 7 1/2″ wide. The head and tail go in and out as he’s pulled along.

Turtle with the head & tail in...

and with his head & tail out.

This year’s project was a bi-plane, which is also an amazing little design. It even has a tiny pilot. What a great addition to our collection of handmade toys!


18 Responses to “Updating My Husband’s Wooden Toys”

  1. Gerald said

    Outstanding! He does great work!

    My dad made a plane very similar to that for our kids many (many) years ago, and we still have it.

    The turtle is really neat. Could I buy one from him as a gift for my wife? (Please respond here, not by email, so she won’t know I’m looking into this. I’d like to surprise her with it —- IF Richard is will to make me one.)

    • sodaklady said

      I asked Richard and he said he would. I’m not sure how long it will take for him to get around to it but I’ll nag him so you will have it before Christmas! 😀

  2. Gerald said

    There’s no rush. I’m thinking of it for a Christmas present. How much will he charge? I know it’s high quality work, and I’m willing to pay for it.

    Thanks, and tell Richard thanks.

  3. Gerald said

    Sounds like a steal for me. We’ll talk about it. Meanwhile, ask him to go ahead with the project when he has time, and tell him thanks again. I definitely want it, but think his price is a little low…..

  4. Gerald said

    Also, I’ll be out of touch for most of the coming week, so don’t look for another reply from me until maybe next weekend.

  5. there are wooden toys that uses artificial wood which lasts longer compared to organic wood :’.

  6. Erin Smith said

    I love the wooden toys your husband makes, they are great! My little 3 year old boy is really into airplanes and I want to get him one for Christmas and when I saw the biplane your hasband made I fell in love with it. Would your husband be willing and able to make one for me to purchase?

  7. crenn720@yahho.com said

    How can I get a pattern for the bi-plane? My daughter & her husband are expecting and they are decorating the nursery with planes. We would love to make them one of these. Please help.

    Carla

    • sodaklady said

      The bi-plane and several other of the toys are from a book by Jim Makowicki titled Making Heirloom Toys. It’s available from Amazon and full of great toy plans. I highly recommend it.

  8. Jason said

    Hi, just wondering if your husband still make the bi plane? Best that I’ve seen online.

    • sodaklady said

      He doesn’t have much time for the toys these days. We are doing scroll saw projects more now, especially compound cuts which result in a 3-dimentional object. Thanks for compliment, Jason.

  9. Cheryl said

    Does you husband have a plan or detailed instructions on building the bi plane? My husband would love to tackle this airplane for our grand daughter. Her dad works on airplanes and grandpa worked on them in the Air Force many years ago.

  10. Dave fait said

    I made the airplane from the book you mentioned. Very good book. Well worth it. What baffles me is compound cuts on the miter saw. Just bought a Dewalt compound miter saw and failed the test. Are you using one on your turtles?

    • sodaklady said

      Yes, hubby has a Bosch though. He says he turns the shell upside down so you can see the bottom and mark the cuts there. He cuts the 90 degree cuts first, then the 45s.

      Glad you liked the book. Lots of cool toys in it.

  11. jaimie mccormick said

    Hi there..Does your husband sell these airplanes? Looking to purchase for my baby room.

Leave a Reply

 
