Thoughts From The Gameroom

The ramblings of a Euro-gamer from South Dakota

How Memoir ’44 became my Hot Game

Posted by sodaklady on February 21, 2009

Playing board games around here had slowed to a drizzle and then a total drought. But then we got rid of the pool table which took up a huge part of the family room and set up a folding table in its place.  Five days ago I set up the board and terrain tiles for one of the original scenarios from Memoir ’44, covered it with a piece of Plexiglass, and waited for my opportunity.

 

Board and terrain tiles set up and waiting for 2 players with a little time.

Board and terrain tiles set up and waiting for 2 players with a little time.

 This has worked amazingly well.  Since half of the set-up is already done, it doesn’t take much time to finish the set up and be ready to play. The Plexiglass keeps the cats from playing with the game before we do, and it’s nice to be able to move the figures without worrying about disarranging the terrain. My husband noted that the Plexiglass also keeps the dice from interfering with the setup, unless you throw hard, of course.

So far, we’ve played almost every day since I set it up–sometimes twice. I’ve had Memoir for… what, 4 years, and haven’t  even played all of the original scenarios. I have the Pacific, Air Pack, and recently, the Mediterranean expansions but have only tried the Air pack a couple of times. I would really like to play all of the scenarios and try the rules tweaks that they offer. Hopefully, having the board set up ahead of time and waiting will help me get to them in the foreseeable future. Then I won’t feel so badly about buying the Eastern Front expansion!  And if we ever get through all of that, this will work just as beautifully with Ancients and the three expansions I have for that!!

5 Responses to “How Memoir ’44 became my Hot Game”

  1. gamesgrandpa said

    That looks great! Nice job. Have fun.

  2. Sean said

    Are you a C&C: Ancients fan?

    I’ve wondered about M44… to me, the period wouldn’t seem to play to the system’s strengths. I’m curious to try it, though.

  3. sodaklady said

    Sean, I actually like C&C: Ancients better than Memoir; I agree with so many others that the time period seems to suit the play much better. Memoir is good, too, though it feels lighter. And when I play Memoir, I always miss being able to Battle Back. 🙂

  4. JMcL63 said

    Lovely! I played a lot of M44 before I got hold of Combat Commander. I played it recently for the first time in ages, and was reminded of how exciting it is. Though I do have to agree with sodaklady that C&C:A is a better iteration of the Commands and Colours engine. 😉

  5. […] Remember when I wrote about keeping Memoir ’44 set up on our class-top table, ready for play whenever we were? Our two cats were disconcerted with the glass top so never even thought about bothering it.  Fast forward to the present day and a new kitty, J.R., who is just turning 2 and full of pent-up, where-the-hell-is-spring energy. She is NOT afraid of falling through a piece of glass and has discovered how much fun army men are. […]

Leave a Reply

 
