Thoughts From The Gameroom

The ramblings of a Euro-gamer from South Dakota

Game Drought Broken

Posted by sodaklady on March 3, 2007

It’s been two weeks since I’ve played a game. Horrible, ain’t it? Between working, tv, my love affair with my Wii, and being just plain worn out, we haven’t been in the mood to play a game but tonight Richard came home early and said, “So are you ready to play a game?” After a moment’s pause for my brain to assimilate those words coming out of my husband’s mouth, I said, “Sure.”

The one I’ve been drooling to play again is Taluva so that’s what I pulled off the kitchen shelf without hesitation. I had a plan I wanted to try–build a settlement with a temple, smash a hut or two to break off the temple from the huts, then build a second temple with the already-built huts. Well, somewhere the plan fell into the sea. I’m still not sure if it was the placement of the tiles, the interference of my opponent or a lapse in judgment but it just didn’t come together that way and I started to worry about my position. In the end, Richard needed to place a single hut to win when my turn came around. I needed to get rid of six huts to win. I could expand into the sand which would use only 5 but the luck was with me and I drew a tile with sand on it and placed it on the table. A very close game which we sat staring at for a couple of minutes before picking it up. I don’t know what Richard was thinking about but I was pondering the use of the towers. With only two players, how would the board have to be built for you to concentrate on tower placement without helping your opponent in the same goal. Interesting game which I think was well-thought out.

Next was another tile-laying game which we haven’t played in a long time, Fjords. It’s a quick, light game but fun for both of us. The map-building bothers some people since you can be forced to place a piece that will only help your opponent, or continually draw tiles that do not have a legal place to play. I see it differently; if the piece only helps your opponent’s position, then you should have held back your last farmhouse for such an opening. The pieces that do not play are also part of the strategy of the game since they can affect who gets to start the second half of the game–the acquisition of farm land.

Anyway, we played the game as recommended–three games with the scores totaled together. The first game played very smoothly with tiles fitting in with jaw-dropping ease. I think we only set aside one tile which was placed on the next turn. I won that one 16-13. The second game was a trial as far as fitting pieces into the map since we drew a lot of water-and-rock mixed tiles right from the start. Our farmhouses were in desperate need of some land around them for half of the game but towards the end, Richard managed to extend one of his areas nicely after I’d already placed all of my houses. He took the second game by a hair–16-15. The third game was an average game, a few tiles set aside but generally fitting where we wanted them. Unfortunately, Richard had made better choices of where to place his farms and I knew from looking at it that I was in trouble. He rolled over me 17-12. The final score was close though, 46-43.

I was ready for another game but Richard had a headache. That’s o.k. The drought was broken and I enjoyed my walk in the rain.

3 Responses to “Game Drought Broken”

  1. geraldmcd said

    Sounds like you and Richard had a great evening, with two of your favorite games. Congratulations!

  2. Mary, I read reports like this and I understand why one of my friends thought, when I complained that it had been ages since I had played a game, that “playing a game” was a euphemism.

    You wanted to play again but Richard had a headache … yeah … *g*

  3. sodaklady said

    Thanks for the laugh, Melissa. You must have some interesting friends! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
