Thoughts From The Gameroom

The ramblings of a Euro-gamer from South Dakota

My Personal Gaming Evolution

Posted by sodaklady on February 23, 2007

There’s a lot of new Eurogames out now that I should be drooling over; itching to get my hands on, and I’m not: Hermagor, On the Underground, Mr. Jack to name a few. There are soon-to-be-released games that many are talking about but I don’t even care: Age of Empires III, Notre Dame, Die Baumeister von Arkadia. I read about them and they sound good but I don’t get that “gotta have it” feeling. Truthfully, it’s more of a “been there, done that” feeling.

What I’m most looking forward to is Tide of Iron. It’s a war game and something that I’d never have believed I’d be interested in even a year ago. Maybe it’s not such a strange evolution given how much I like Command & Colors: Ancients. It seems to be about the same weight but with a totally different style of play.

Today I was browsing BGN and saw a post about the newest game planned by Fantasy Flight called Tannhauser. I’d never heard of it so clicked over to Fantasy Flight Games to read their first posts about it. It sounds like a cross between an RPG-type board game and a war game. Well, since my husband, Richard, enjoyed our first play of World of Warcraft that Mike brought over 2 weekends ago, I’m giving this one some serious consideration. This one is giving me the itch and I can’t wait to hear more about it.

To me, this is a strange evolution. I always think of FF games as ones with tons of different types of pieces and dozens of card decks and have been put off by all the fiddling with bags and bags of pieces to sort through during the game. “Now where are those chits for weapons?” “I know that beastie is around here somewhere; which bag was it in?”

Anyway, I’ll be watching for the next posts and hoping that it continues to intrigue me.

One Response to “My Personal Gaming Evolution”

  1. coldfoot said

    Mary! I remember that you were going to start a new blog, but I completely missed this new blog until now.

    I’ve got a lot of reading to do.

Leave a Reply

 
